JP Log: Halfsies

2/27/24


AWESOME!! My friend dj sent me a video today.. so i learned something brand new.  (″ロ゛)

In the video, pusyu is hungry.. so the girl says, 「はんぶんこ、する?」... he agrees, and she tears him half of her anpan! I understand the interaction just fine.. 半分... I know that word! And I know those kanji! so it's easily read to me as half/halfpart.... duhhh..  But, here's the puzzling part..

and it's reaaally puzzling, so hang in there ....

... what's the こ for, anyway?  ( ;  ̄ω ̄)

Well.. I WASN'T SURE!! It makes sense just fine as just 半分する?.. right! But that こ... if I don't understand something, even something that's just one kana, i need to figure it out! So that's just what i did.. i got to the bottom of it. σ( ̄、 ̄〃)

Apparently this こ is a suffix! And 半分こ is actually a noun within itself.
According to koujien (standard JP dictionary), it can be used in such ways:

To do to one another. Or to compete. (e.g.) 「かけっこ」(footrace),「くらべっこ」(see which is better, bigger, faster, stronger, etc.)

To be in such a state. (e.g.)「どんぶらっこ」, (onomatopoeic word that describes how a weighted object floats and sinks in water),「ぺちゃんこ」(to be squashed.. i think!).

And in  Tōhoku dialect, it might even be attached to words with no real meaning!! Like 「銭っこ」「フナっこ」「天井こ」... (but I don't get that.. so it's for another time.)

well.. I hope that's right anyway. In any case, I learned a new word. how cool!!! I know halfsies now. (・∀・(・∀・(・∀・*) also, sorry if this is confusing or I actually got something incorrect. i got my first dose of iron today!! i'm so sleepy.



Currently listening to: Driftveil Drawbridge - Pokemon Black/White
Current mood: I'm tiiired...

Web Clap by FC2